R.I.P Stephen “Static Major” Garrett

static-major1

Life is so short. Each time I listen to any one of Static’s songs I can only wonder what path his musical career would have taken him were he still alive today. This dude is an extremely talented individual and I’m actually sad that I didn’t get familiar with his work before he passed.

Everybody knows Static Major through Lil Wayne’s summer hit, Lollipop, but he has countless other works. I just found out that he worked extensively with Aaliyah on songs like Try Again, We Need A Resolution, and Rock the Boat. Some of his other writing credits include Pony by Ginuwine, You Owe Me by Nas, and On the Hotline by Pretty Ricky.

I was on his MySpace yesterday when I heard apparently one of his older songs, Til the Wheels Fall Off, and now it’s receiving heavy rotation on my iTunes music library. This song is real smooth and he definitely kills it. This song definitely receives my stamp of approval, so please feel free to ride out to this one ‘cuz that’s what I’m doing.

There’s actually another version of this song featuring Pretty Ricky, but that version doesn’t even compare to this one.

The play count for this song right now is 54 in less than 24hrs!!! Yes, it’s that serious.

Static Major – Til the Wheels Off

Leave a Reply

