The Creative Work of Ian Kim

monkeyface

Ian Kim was born in Rondo Beach, California. He has live in the US, Korea, Japan, Australia, and Canada. After completing his freshman year at the Rhode Island School of Design, he graduated from New York University in 2005 with a BFA in Film and Television. Since then, he returned to the Los Angeles area, where he works at motion design studio, Buck.

His works cover a variety of themes from comics to motion. While some of his work is a bit graphic, others are just funny, and some send a message. All in all, his work is dope.

Here are some of my favorite works from Ian Kim.

cloud

This one, titled Cloud Seeding, was actually the first artwork by Ian Kim that I came across, and I was drawn to it because of the use of perspective. I actually decided to do more research on Ian Kim because I expected to find some more perspective drawings and paintings, but I found even better stuff.

Like this one.

beast1

This one is titled The Beast is Back. It’s actually the image that appears on the homepage of his website. For some weird reason I just like this one. It reminds of a cartoon type horror movie.

doubledragon

And this is probably my favorite one… probably because I’ve always had a liking for dragon artwork. It’s titled the Two Headed Dragon for obvious reasons. I’ll try to see on Ian Kim’s website if I can get this as a large poster.

To see some more of the creative work of Ian Kim click here.

Leave a Reply

